top of page

Matcha Protein Bars

If I'm honest, I used to completely hate matcha; didn't like the taste and to be honest what is with its bright green colour?!

But, then I went to Modern Baker (a lovely, health food cafe in Oxford) and had a matcha latte and my view was changed. It was DELICIOUS. So, I then decided to look up the health benefits of matcha...

It is full of antioxidants (will help to fight off those signs of ageing), it enhances 'calm' as it is full of the amino acid L-Theanine which promotes the production of alpha waves in the brain which induces relaxation, it helps aid concentration and memory due to creating production of dopamine and serotonin, alongside much more.

Therefore, I decided that I wanted to make something a little different with them that wasn't just a matcha based drink, but an energy enhancing snack. SO, these delicious protein bars were born.

The recipe:

To make 12 bars, you will need:

- one sachet of the chia co oats and coconut porridge (or 30g of oats),

- 20g of protein (I used Pulsin pea protein),

- 1 tablespoon of coconut flour (I used Sukrin),

- 10g of coconut sugar

- 20g of dried cranberries (I'm sure goji berries would taste brilliant though),

- 1 tablespoon of coconut oil,

- 30g of peanut butter (I used a Pip and Nut sachet),

- 10g of liquid sweetener (i used agave)

To make the bars, simply combine all of the dry ingredients.

Then, melt the coconut oil with the peanut butter and agave.

Mix the wet and dry ingredients, adding a little water to make it mix fully.

Press the mixture in to a lined tinned and then pop in the fridge for four hours to chill..

Once chilled, cut in to squares and enjoy!

Smothered with more peanut butter on top makes them even more delicious.

xxx


HANNAH'S COOKING TIPS:

#1 

Coconut oil; brilliant for sweet and savoury dishes as well as your skin. 

 

#2

Turmeric powder; brilliant anti-inflammatory properties so great post workout to reduce muscle soreness. 

 

#3

Eggs; such a versatile ingredient and a brilliant snack. Hardboil a few at the start of the week and you're less likely to reach for the sweet jar! 

bottom of page